Bible Before God – This We Believe

At the Christian book store in Preston yesterday, I looked at some CDs that advertised being for families wanting some worship music. They were produced by Seeds Family Worship. I didn’t buy anything until I looked a little more, but the songs looked to be Bible verses put to music. I do like the idea, and some of the songs from YouTube looked good. I will have to test them out on Savannah before committing.

One disconcerting thing I found was the company’s ‘What We Believe’:

We believe the Bible is the inerrant word of God, inspired by the Holy Spirit. We believe in the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit—one God existing eternally in three persons.

Nothing surprises or bothers me in the claim to believe that the Bible is the ‘inerrant word of God’. That’s commonplace among evangelicals and as evangelicals can’t agree on what that means anyway, there’s little point in taking too much issue with it.

But what did catch me is that their statement about the Bible is BEFORE their statement about God. I don’t think I have ever seen that top the list before the statement about God. I wonder if that says more about what they believe than actually what is written in the statement. Surely God would come first.

As a comparison, the Evangelical Alliance has scripture 3rd on their list – and they don’t use the word ‘inerrant’. God takes the two top spots.

2 thoughts on “Bible Before God – This We Believe

  1. In our bit of the world (North Wales) the Evangelical Movement of Wales is pretty prevalent. To the regular lay Christian most contact with them comes through their good chain of bookshops. My housemate wanted to volunteer with them and had to sign the following first:

    http://www.emw.org.uk/about/beliefs/

    And I was as shocked as you are! My evangelical housemate defended it by saying that the Bible, as revelation of God, should be the basis of all our theology (as the EMW’s wording suggests). This, however seems to elevate the Bible to a higher stature than it ought to take. In my eyes at least, the Bible only points to God, who is the “author and perfecter of our faith” and should be the starting point of all our theology.

  2. Paul, that one is fascinating! Two statements about the Bible before they get to what they believe about God. It’s almost as if they are starting an argument before they’ve said anything!

    I believe that the Bible is the primary source (likely not in the way the EMW says), but then again so did the creeds and the writers there didn’t feel the need to say anything about it!

Leave a Reply

