Giving Grace to Yourself

It finally happened. I think I had lulled myself into the belief that it may not this time. I skipped a day in my reading the Bible through a year. I laid down in bed last night, after midnight (after a late night meal and watching the Duke basketball game), I realised I hadn’t read my daily Bible reading. By this time, the streak was already broken and so I went ahead and went to sleep.

I feel quite guilty about it. I think in part because I am scared that now I have skipped a day, it will already be easier to do it again. This afternoon, I did read the reading for yesterday, but there is still something that feels like failure already. I’m not sure what to do with it. I’ve not easily dealt with guilt and I struggle to give myself grace.

I hope that now that I have a miss, the goal will become God whereas before it was about reading the Bible every day of the year. So, before I go to bed, I will read the lessons for today so that I can move past the ‘well, I have already lost it’ feelings. Perhaps that will open myself to more grace than I otherwise would have had.

5 thoughts on “Giving Grace to Yourself

  1. My view is: you have the plan which gives the readings in sequential order. Just follow it, even if the dates don’t match up. Then you have a chance of eventually finishing it. If it’s not completely finished by 31 December, the world isn’t going to come to an end – at least I don’t think so. If you beat yourself up and feel guilty, the probability is higher that you won’t finish the plan at all.

    FWIW, I think that bible reading plans would do better to have 5 long readings every week. I know that some have six rather than seven, but I think 5 would be more helpful for me personally.

  2. Pam, thank you for your comments and for your encouragement! The problem is that while I can think through that logically, I can’t make it sink any deeper. I think the guilt over not doing it and personality that likes to the reading on the day to match up with the day, it’s harder to do it in practice! But, as you say, the result always ends the same: I get frustrated and quit. That’s why I have been surprised by how long it’s lasted.

    I also think it’s better to have a five or six day plan (or at least a 7th with a significantly shorter one). That’s the good thing about Disciple Bible Study. They build in a ‘day of rest’.

Leave a Reply

