Greetings from St. Paul UMC in South Carolina!

I meant to start back blogging two weeks ago with the Faith & Order Conference, but during that conference I fell ill. Getting back to Blackburn meant preparing for going to the United States! The minister at the church where I grew up (St. Paul United Methodist Church), Dane Morehead, has always wanted to know what it’s like to be a minister in the country where Methodism was founded. I, on the other hand, have always wondered what Jesus meant when he said, ‘Truly I tell you, no prophet is accepted in the prophet’s home town’ (Luke 4:24).

Actually, so far things have been going well. I preached at the 8:30 AM and 11 AM services where the people I have spoken to have all said they enjoyed it. Of course this has been interspersed with the, ‘I still remember when you were a little boy’! It has been fun getting reacquainted with some I haven’t seen in years and those that I have been communicating through Facebook or my parents.

I will be posting my reflections here over the month as I relearn the American Methodist system and try to introduce some parts of the British Methodist ways. For instance, this Sunday I will bring the All-Age service to the 11:00 with the help of Children’s Director (a friend from my seminary days at Duke). After that, I will try the ‘hymn sandwich’! Also, we get to watch our parents with our children for more time than they have been able to see them since they were born.

So to my regular readers, I hope you enjoy – especially those from across the ocean. To those who may come to the blog by hearing about it at church, welcome and feel free to comment! It aught to be a fun month!

2 thoughts on “Greetings from St. Paul UMC in South Carolina!

  1. Greetings from West Palm Beach, Florida–we could use some British influence here, too! Praying for this season of ministry to be a blessed one for St. Paul’s and for your whole family!

Leave a Reply

