Those Who Didn’t Go Up the Mountain

I’m still thinking about the Lectionary texts this week – in particular, the gospel text (Luke 9:28-36). As I mentioned yesterday, Transfiguration Sunday is my least favourite Sunday to preach. I don’t know what to do with this text or even what exactly happened. In it, we talk about Jesus (obviously), the voice from heaven, Moses and Elijah, and the three disciples (in particular Peter who, as usual, runs his mouth). We generally look at it from the point of view of each character.

What about the perspective of the characters who didn’t get to go up the mountain? I think I often feel more like them. Not chosen to have the experience of God on the mountain and, at least in Mark’s version, left to work at the bottom, failing miserably and starting arguments (I can only imagine Jesus coming in the middle of a church council meeting and asking me the same thing, ‘What are you arguing about with them?’ [Mark 9:16]).

What about those of us who do not glimpse the glory? What about those of us who feel that, try as we might, our best is simply not good enough?

Certainly, I could have babbled on as much as Peter did.

2 thoughts on “Those Who Didn’t Go Up the Mountain

  1. My personal theory here (for whatever its worth) is that Peter, James & John were Jesus’ tag-a-longs. Because they were in the habit of following him around, it happened that they were there on the day of Transfiguration.

  2. Hmm… well, the text says Jesus took them with him. I would assume they would have been invited to come.

    Of course, looking for an experience of God requires ‘tagging along’ with Jesus would make a great meditation!

Leave a Reply

