Request for Help on Inkling Charles Williams

I am throwing this out there, hoping someone may have some knowledge about this. Charles Williams was a 2oth century novelist and member of the Inklings (the literary Society of C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien). He used the phrase ‘web of exchange’.

My uncle is trying to find out exactly what he meant by this. He is aware of the internet group dedicated to him and calling itself by this name (‘Web of Exchange‘), but emails to the group haven’t produced a response.

Any help would be appreciated!

6 thoughts on “Request for Help on Inkling Charles Williams

  1. I know Williams because of his novel the Greater Trumps which takes a look at Tarot through it characters ( yes I did say that). He was a complex character and no stranger to theosophy. Members of theosophical societies would meet for agape meals and the term web of exchange has certainly been used in that context. I’ll seek out a little more.

    I use and work with Tarot in the context of working with Christian groups in Mind Body Soul exhibitions as the National Coordinator for Journey Into Wholeness 9 I haven’t lost the plot I promise!!!)

  2. Interesting. I’m familiar with Williams as well – probably in the same way that 90% of us are: through Lewis’ writings. But I haven’t heard of “web of exchange.”

    Didn’t Al Gore invent that?

  3. Hi. I am the Moderator of Coinherence-L, which is our Yahoo-groups -based discussion list for all things CW related. There’s been discussion of the meaning of this phrase there in the past. Also, I would look at CSL’s notes on CW’s “Taliessin through Logres” Arthurian poetry- CW could be obscure, and CSL had a mania for clarity. I hope that helps- if not feel free to write to me for a followup, or join our group and post the question there. /DDD

  4. Well, I’m new to the blogging thing, and this thread is already several years old, but I am a HUGE CW fan. I believe that the ‘web of exchange’ has to do with the concept of exchange laid out in his novel Descent Into Hell, which has, for my money, the clearest explanation of the reasons for and the workings of praying for one another. Basically, if doing carrying a burden is onerous for me, because it’s my burden, but yet a delight and a joy to carry for you,because it is NOT my burden, then what does it cost me to offer to carry your burden in your stead? I think CW envisioned an entire society of people carrying each others burdens, thereby increasing everyone’s joy while simultaneously decreasing their load.

Leave a Reply

