Monday Methodism: John Wesley’s Chapel and House

No trip to London would be complete without a visit to John Wesley’s Chapel and House. I went there my first time with April, Jen, Brandon, and Jennifer (Brandon’s wife). Jen, Brandon, and I graduated Duke together and it seemed fitting we would make a visit to Methodism’s ‘Cathedral Church’. From what the steward said, the church was nearly in a state of condemnation until a worldwide appeal saved it (he admitted that the majority of funds came from the United States).

Below are a few photos of the outside of the two buildings. I will post interior photos of the chapel next week (I must not have been allowed to take photos of the inside of John’s house because I don’t have any).

 

The Front of the Chapel

The Front of the Chapel

John's House

John's House

One of London's Blue Plaques that tell what you're looking at.

One of London's Blue Plaques that tell what you're looking at.

 

Me, Brandon, and Jen posing in front of Wesley's statue.

Me, Brandon, and Jen posing in front of Wesley's statue.

Savannah's turn! Yes, I thought she needed to see this!

Savannah's turn! Yes, I thought she needed to see this (she was 7 mos old then)!

4 thoughts on “Monday Methodism: John Wesley’s Chapel and House

  1. Will,

    Very cool.

    You will be glad to know that I, a Baptist, encouraged the youth Disciple Now gathering at our church last weekend to consider Wesley’s words [paraphrased]: “If I had 300 men who feared nothing but God, and hated nothing but sin, and were determined to have nothing known among men but Christ and him crucified, I could set the world on fire.”

    Aren’t you proud? 🙂

    Wyman

Leave a Reply

