At Week’s End: the first person ever to cry when taken from a church council meeting and Savannah Becoming More English

It’s been a whirlwind week back at work. I have barely stopped since I returned from holiday. Part of it stems from arguing with the Marriage Registrar’s office over an upcoming wedding, which has taken more time than really has been necessary. But, all has been fixed in the diary for that now.

For Ash Wednesday, my superintendent, our circuit lay worker, and I provided an alternative service. We took the scriptures assigned for the day and offered reflections rather than sermons. I think it turned out very well.

The rest of the week has been meetings, visiting, and more phone calls. The big news is Savannah.

Savannah Says
Every once in a while, something with Savannah happens that reminds me that she is growing up in a very different culture than the one I did (sorry to those family member who want to resolutely believe she is 100% American). For a few days she would say something to the effect of, ‘Want bick.’ For days, I could not figure out what she was saying. Then after a nap during which I had cleaned the kitchen, I placed her at her normal ‘kitchen spot’ (by the microwave on the counter), she started shouting ‘Want bick! Want bick!’ I looked around and found a packet of chocolate digestive biscuits and it hit me that is what she is saying! I picked up the biscuits and asked, ‘What are these Savannah?’ She said loudly, ‘Bick!’ Even when I call them biscuits, I still think of them as cookies. She will respond more to the English words than the American ones because that’s what she is learning! To her, what we would normally call ‘cookies’, she will call ‘biscuits’.

I also had a church council meeting at Mellor this week. April was working late and would come to pick Savannah up at 8. As we turned into the church’s drive, Savannah made a little excited noise and shouted, ‘Church!’ As we walked inside, she got a little miffed that we weren’t going into the sanctuary (where her little corner is), but found plenty of toys in the meeting room. Of course, she wanted to sit at the table with the rest of us. She had her paper out ready to draw and her juice next to her. Then April came in a little later. All was fine until April said, ‘Time to go Savannah,’ and reached out to take her. Savannah immediately started to cry, clearly wanting to stay! April took her away after some tearful bye-byes and waving. Savannah must be the first person in history to cry because she had to leave a church council meeting! This really is a credit to the way the people at Mellor have welcomed her, as she feels so comfortable around the place.

All About April
April’s been just as busy as the rest of us. She is in full swing for the next few weeks at work, and at the moment fighting feeling poorly.  She says she needs another holiday!

The Week Ahead
Busy for us all. More meetings. More visits (church for me, schools for April). Lots of paperwork!

Luke: we love you and are praying for you.

7 thoughts on “At Week’s End: the first person ever to cry when taken from a church council meeting and Savannah Becoming More English

  1. Lovely. 🙂

    Savannah must be the first person in history to cry because she had to leave a church council meeting!

    We finished our last one 15 minute early and I do believe that I heard some cheering as the people wooshed out the door. I think they were moving too fast to really hear them properly, though. 😉

Leave a Reply

