Buying Books for Class

One of the things I miss most this time of year (and again in August) are those trips down to the Cokesbury in the Divinity School to pick up the books for that semester’s classes. Some of us went in groups, partly to enjoy the experience of getting new books but also because we didn’t want the others to get the books before we did. So, we usually had an agreed upon date. The shelves would be stocked with all kinds of exciting treasures you couldn’t wait to get home and look through them.

OK, so we didn’t read them all but, it was still fun.

Well, I got a glimpse of that experience again today. I mentioned yesterday that I will be taking a class at the University of Durham (‘The Bible in Tomorrow’s World’, taught by Bishop N. T. Wright). So, I went to Preston today to drop off an application for a gateway grant for Wilpshire Church and made my way to the Chrsitian Book Centre to buy The Mission of God: Unlocking the Bible’s Grand Narrative.

It looks plenty exciting, but it hardly matches the thrill of buying books for class again. I hadn’t realised how much I missed the feeling!

Oh, and I picked up Thomas F. Torrance’s Incarnation: The Person and Life of Christ. It’s not for class, but it was reduced and looks like a great read, too.

4 thoughts on “Buying Books for Class

  1. What a great opportunity! I enjoying reading N.T. Wright–provocative, engaging, fresh, and challenging. I look forward to your updates.

    God bless you my friend.

  2. That’s unfair Will! 🙂

    I had a brief but very nice conversation with Bishop Wright at Westminster Abbey a few years ago. I was over there for a doctoral seminar. I reminded him that he had lectured at Southwestern Seminary in Ft. Worth some years before and that I had heard him there. He knew the exact date of that talk, which kind of amazed me given how often he travels and speaks.

    Anyway, a very gracious man and a great scholar. I’m envious!

    (That was a great trip by the way. Our seminar had a lunch with Bruce Winter that I’ll never forget either!)

    Wyman

Leave a Reply

