So what do you do when you’re wearing a collar?

OK, so after a pastoral visit this afternoon, I nipped into the Co-Op (kind of a cross between a convenience store and a small supermarket).  I am all dressed in clerical gear.  Got what I wanted, avoided two primary school children who were in a hurry to get in the queue before me, and waited patiently for the two erratic girls to do what ever they needed.  I wasn’t bothered because they weren’t more than 7.  That’s no excuse, but I didn’t want to waste time and then know 14 years old who would egg my house.

Anyway, as I am getting ready to go next when I notice a man stand to the side, but fully ready to jump next.  The lady behind the counter politely asks, who’s next (likely know that I was) and the guy jumps.  I mutter, ‘Well, I was next, but whatever.’

Wearing a collar, I never know quite what to say.  It’s the expectations I know goes with wearing one and that I could be judged by what I do or say. This is going through my mind as a I stand there. All right, in the grand scheme of things, it’s a small slight – well, bigger in Britain when one jumps the queue – but it still grates me, especially when I know I can’t act the same way others can.

So, he says, ‘We got here at the same time.’  Well, yes, after he had already jumped in.  Then he pointed to the two girls and I thought he said, ‘I’m with them.’  If that’s what he said, he lied because he ran out, leaving the girls and was gone by the time I got outside – and the girls still in.

3 thoughts on “So what do you do when you’re wearing a collar?

  1. That post is the #1 reason you are a minster and I am not. You think how your behavior would reflect on on the ministry. (Good on you) I would not care and just be myself. 🙂

  2. The guy got there after you and then jumped in front of you.

    Hmm, I wonder who came off badly in that situation?

    For the last five years, I’ve actually been trying not to worry about these sorts of things. It makes me more peacable. When I lived in London, I made it a spiritual exercise to be the last person to get on the tube going home in rush hour. It was amazing the number of times I got a seat within about 10 minutes anyway and I got rid of all the tension that I used up worrying who would push in front of me.

  3. Oh, Kelly! You don’t have to be a minister to think about that. And I don’t always do the right thing!

    Pam, I don’t usually worry about it, either. I was just miffed about it. You are right about the Tube. It is amazing how people crowd in and then you can get a seat easily by waiting!

Leave a Reply

