What was I thinking?

Lammack Methodist Church, one of our Blackburn Circuit churches, hosts a mid-week worship service every other week.  Mid-week worship’s theme at the moment is parables.  Yvonne, my superintendent and the minister at Lammack, asked if I would take one and I thought I would be daring and choose the Parable of the Dishonest Manager (Luke 16.1-13).  I could have chosen any parable – lost sheep, good Samaritan, or even the mustard seed.  No, I wanted a challenge and chose Luke’s weird parable about Jesus telling us to win friends by using dishonest wealth.

Mid-week worship is Thursday, so if anyone has any ideas on how to present it, I am listening.

6 thoughts on “What was I thinking?

  1. What was you thinking. All I can think of is something similar to the newspaper/internet/tv thingy you did one Easter. Ask the congreation with you to translate the parable into modern day language for an imaginery website or to put it in ways a sunday school could use it.

  2. That’s a very tough one. I preached on it last year when it came around in the lectionary…and guess who shows up that day? My DS! I was already nervous about the sermon anyway, and then he shows up!

    Unfortunately, when my hard drive died, I lost that sermon. I think I took the theme of make friends with Jesus’ friends who will recognize you on the ‘day of judgment’. Or something.

  3. One thing I found interesting is that the New Jerusalem Bible states that the Manager was only depriving himself of his salary not cheating his master. It was customary during those times for a Manager to only get commission off the sale which was included on the bill. The part he cut off the bill was his commission. Do you know how true that is?

  4. Natalie: I think the aim is for me to present it in modern language – or at least help them! It is a strange parable.

    Sarah: I think I choose the alternate readings on this day! I am sure you did great, even with your District Super there.

    Kelly: According to a commentary by J.A. Fitzmyer, putting a commission on the goods was a common practice during this time. So, in Fitzmyer’s view, this is what happened, i.e., he cut his own profit. This would refer only to the actions mentioned in the parable, though. We do not know the original reasons behind why the master/rich man was dissatisfied with the manager, but the master approved of the actions to cut the manger’s own profits.

Leave a Reply

