Happy New Year!

Today is the first day of the new British Methodist connexional year, so I especially wish my fellow British Methodists a very happy new year.  I begin my fifth year of presbyteral ministry after graduating Duke University Divinity School.  Again, I have to be amazed where this has taken me.  It also marks the first time I have been in a congregation for a third new year.  My first appointment lasted two years and I have spent two years in my present position.  Two years meant getting to know them in time to leave, so I will be watching to see how my relationships develop over time now that I have more time with my churches.

So, with the first of the year comes all the meetings that it will bring and start of new programmes.  Church Councils begin for me next month.  Advent begins in 89 days.  Lots to do.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I am prompted to ask, when do the UMC churches begin their new church year then?

    May God bless your third year ministry in your present church. As I have just written on my blog, the new Connexional year can bring joy and excitement as well as fears and tears – and all need our prayers.

  2. There is no official start of the year like there is in British Methodism. For one, each annual conference (like a district) sets it’s own time table. The UMC have what they call ‘moving day’ when each of the pastors who are moving should be out of their pastoral charge and into the new one.

    Thank you for your blessings, and blessing to you on your new connexional year!

Leave a Reply

