What Will it Be Like When Savannah is 18?

As Senator McCain has revealed his pick for vice president, I couldn’t help but reflect that on the first presidential election in which my 19 month old daughter is alive, there is an African-American and a female on the major party tickets.  For my entire life (with the exception of 1984) it has all been white men.  When it comes time for Savannah to vote (18 years old), will this be a big deal?  Or will it finally be commonplace?  Years down the road, will Savannah be able to say, ‘In my lifetime, it’s never been assumed that a white man will hold both positions on the ticket?’

7 thoughts on “What Will it Be Like When Savannah is 18?

  1. It’s about time that times changed.

    I like Obama, but I wonder whether America is ready to elect a black man to the presidency? I’m not so sure. I think a white woman would have been more acceptable, but I personally would not have voted for Hilary (nothing to do with her gender; in case that needs saying!)

  2. David: I agree – variety is good!

    Pam: Also, I agree it is time things changed. I, too, wonder if America will vote for an African-American. We will have to see. It ought to be an interesting election!

  3. I do not understand why you seem to be debating the topic using mainly colour of skin. Times have to change as society changes but do you not find the need to discuss the topic in this way or even on a gender issue worrying for the 21st century. Saying this I am not aware of a black / coloured prime minister in England but there was certainly a female. Maybe if Obama won it would help within some areas of politics which have so far been feeling misunderstood or ignored.

  4. Natalie: It has more to do with the culture in the United States. In my parents’ lifetime, there were bathrooms for whites and ‘coloreds’ (what was actually on the sign). African-Americans were not allowed in certain places. Now the US has a viable chance to have within many peoples’ lifetime to go from exclusion to the highest national office (and the most powerful in the world). While not the same for women, many have believed that a ‘glass ceiling’ has existed for women. So the debate isn’t so much around colour of skin or gender, but it’s a historic moment. The issue will still arise, as Pam wonders, will some in the United States be able to vote for an African-American?

  5. So how does this link into the issues which arrised in the last (2, I think) elections when certain people, according to news reports mainly black where not able to vote due to the right being removed.

  6. I am not sure of the situation you are talking about. I believe one’s right can only be taken away if one has criminal conduct in one’s past. But, there has been issues of intimidating people who want to vote – either at the polling place or when they have been trying to register.

Leave a Reply

