Thoughts on Going to America

Tomorrow morning, April, Savannah, and I fly out of Manchester to Atlanta.  It’s a strange feeling.  Over the past few days leading up to the trip, there are things that have been going through my mind as we prepare to go.

  • We have not been to the United States in nearly three years.
  • We haven’t left the United Kingdom in over two years (our holiday to Greece in 2006).
  • We return two days shy of our 4th anniversary of the day we first arrived in the UK.
  • I begin to realise how comfortable I have come to live in the UK.
  • I wonder how I will adjust to driving on the other side of the car, on the other side of the road.
  • Savannah has been the citizen of a country all her life to which she has never been.
  • She has never experienced heat like she will in the South’s summer (it will be in the 90s F).
  • We will not be in one place for more than three days.
  • Our trip will span from Washington, DC, to Auburn, Alabama, and everywhere in between (a distance of around 12 hours).
OK, nothing terribly profound.  Oh, but one more recurring thought, ‘Oh dear god, we are on a plane for 8 hours with an 18 month old!’
8 thoughts on “Thoughts on Going to America

  1. I hope you have a wonderful time on your trip. We used to live in Auburn, and you will love the people there.

  2. This must be the time for intercontinental travel! My old District Chair will be here to visit this weekend and another friend of mine will be here on Monday.

    Don’t kid yourself. Culture shock is real–even more so when you think you know what you’re getting into!

    Have fun and be safe!

  3. I traveled by myself with a 3week old baby from CA to TX on a plane. I was still unsure of being mother much less the courage of taking her on a plane. I was terrified!!!Plus did it again with she was 3 months old while I was trying to get her to switch to the bottle. You will be fine. You want entertainment watch the faces of the people when they see you come on the plane with a baby.

  4. I hope you have a great trip. I also hope it won’t be too stressful.

    It’s not too much of a problem driving on the right hand side of the road with a left-hand-drive car. But I’ll bet you try to get into the driver’s seat on the right!

    Blessings to you all.

  5. We hope you have a great holiday! but not forget to come back we need you all, I am still looking for a business partner? so have nice break Gods speed.
    ps Synod is only round the corner! deep joy

  6. bermudaonion: Thanks! My dad grew up in Opelika.

    Sarah: Thanks for the warning on the culture shock. I hope you have a great time with your visitors. I wish Missouri was closer to where we were going (I still find it strange that in the two years you spent over here, we saw each in Wales!).

    Kelly: Thanks for the advice, and we can’t want to see you and Serenity!

    Pam: Thanks for the driving encouragement!

    Mike: You better hope I don’t sign you up for more business deals! 🙂 Yes, we can’t want for Synod!

  7. It will be a wonderful trip. Just remember that you are going to re-learn all the Amercian ways e.g. driving on the right just in time to come home to England and have to change back over to the left.

Leave a Reply

