It’s All Downhill to Christmas Now

Sally at Eternal Echoes wrote on her blog ‘Where has the year gone…‘, which made me realise the date.  Yesterday was the Feast of the Nativity of St. John the Baptist, and today being 25 June, we are six months away from Christmas.  Or, as a colleague of mine from a previous circuit put it, ‘It’s all downhill to Christmas.’

Sally asked about where the year has gone and decided to give a moment to ask God to allow her to savour her children.  As Savannah grows older, I make that my prayer, too.  She is growing up much faster than I would like!  But, I have enjoyed each age which she is.

As far as Christmas goes, last night at our house group, I mentioned I was organising a group to talk about what they would like to do for Advent and Christmas.  They all looked at me like I had grown a second head.  The problem is that Advent and Christmas take a lot of planning, but no one in the church wants to start thinking about it until late November when they are starting their family/personal preparations.  You can’t organise Christmas then.  And the start of the connexional year brings too much with it to do anything serious in September.  So, I’m trying to give it a start in July!

One thought on “It’s All Downhill to Christmas Now

  1. last night at our house group, I mentioned I was organising a group to talk about what they would like to do for Advent and Christmas. They all looked at me like I had grown a second head.

    🙂 Yep.

    Or, in my case, some implications that planning indicates that one has no trust in the Holy Spirit.

    We started planning our Harvest Festival in March this year. It was someone else’s idea after not having planned the past two Harvest Festivals and having services that were pretty much like a normal service with a Harvest theme and a few tinned cans of food.

Leave a Reply

