Savannah and Sharing

We are teaching Savannah about sharing, or at least as much as you can do for a 15 month old. She likes to smile and hand us things. When we say ‘thank you’ or ‘ta’, she gives a breathing in and out giggle. But, of course, if she really didn’t want to give it up then she holds her hand out saying, ‘Aah, aah’ until we give it back. Then there are time she wants to share when she is eating and she realises she doesn’t like it. She did that just now. She was eating a cucumber when April dropped her in the office. She had it in her mouth and then a moment later, I heard her say, ‘Dish’ (which the Blackburn circuit staff team has decided means ‘this’). She was sitting beside me holding the cucumber to me. She had the sweetest smile as if to say, ‘See what I’m giving you?’ I told her I didn’t want it. ‘Dish.’ I said again I didn’t want it. This time she made to crawl out of the room, one hand still holding on to the cucumber, making this weird crawling motion. This lasted about two steps when she just left the cucumber on the floor of my office and crawled out. I guess I got the cucumber after all.

2 thoughts on “Savannah and Sharing

Leave a Reply

