‘Rapture’ Theology

Craig Adams at Commonplace Holiness has a great article discussing the Rapture. Rapture and Dispensational theology have become nearly synonymous with evangelical Christianity in the United States. I haven’t encountered it much in England, as the Left Behind books have not made much of an inroad over here (a situation I hope and pray will continue). Many evangelical conservatives in Britain tend to see Left Behind books as American Triumphalism. Craig takes a look at many of the verses pre-trib point to in making their case and shows where the Dispensationalists err. This is worth a read.

9 thoughts on “‘Rapture’ Theology

  1. Thanks for this Will.

    I grew up in this kind of thing. In seminary, it was George Eldon Ladd’s book, The Blessed Hope, that signaled the beginning of the end for me and dispensationalism.

  2. Hi Wyman. I also grew up with this, too. In fact, I didn’t know there were alternatives. I there were two ideas: either one believed in dispensationalism or ‘liberals’ who didn’t believed in Jesus. I didn’t know there might be alternatives until 8 years ago. I don’t remember how I found out. I think I was reading a book on Wesley’s theology, but noticed there was nothing about a ‘rapture’. I think I started doubting it then. I didn’t really have anything to replace it until I began reading in seminary.

  3. Well, I was taught you were a liberal (and an allegorizer!) if you didn’t believe in the pre-Trib rapture, but you were REALLY a liberal if your minister wore a robe! Which pretty much included all of you Methodists! 🙂

  4. Uh-oh! And I wore a robe on Easter Sunday!

    I seriously didn’t know there was any other view other than a pre-trib rapture! Any other view I heard generally denied Jesus as a God, there was no ‘second coming’, etc. Of course, growing up I didn’t really know that there were Christians who believed in those things. It wasn’t until I went to University that I met people calling themselves Christians, but didn’t believe in a literal interpretation of the Bible or that Jesus is not really God. Even at the University of South Carolina! Of course, I don’t think any Baptists had those views.

  5. Yikes! That last comment was me, Pam. My husband switched our church’s website to wordpress and I was still signed it.

    Could you delete it for me, Will?

  6. Hi Pam! I had deduced that the comment was from you! As you requested, it is deleted.

    To answer your question, though, I guess I can only say that’s the kind of church I grew up in. The Left Behind books and other dispensationalists are just so influential in the South. When you take that and add to it that I don’t think I have heard many, if any, Methodist preachers preach on the second coming at all. So, I just assumed that ‘rapture theology’ was the default. Luckily, that’s changing now!

  7. I just sent some comments to Commonplace Holiness, if readers might be interested. I appreciate your excellent blog also. God bless. John

Leave a Reply

