The Hermeneutics Quiz

Dave Faulkner on his blog has linked to Scot McKnight‘s Hermeneutics Quiz, which apparently tells us how we read the bible.  I scored a 76, which places me in the progressive camp.  In his article at ChristianityToday.com, he writes of the progressives:

Still, the progressive tends to see the Bible as historically shaped and culturally conditioned, and yet most still consider it the Word of God for today. Following a progressive hermeneutic, for the Word to speak in our day, one must interpret what the Bible said in its day and discern its pattern for revelation in order to apply it to our world. The strength, as with the moderate but even more so, is the challenge to examine what the Bible said in its day, and this means the progressives tend to be historians. But the problems for the progressives are predictable: Will the Bible’s so-called “plain meaning” be given its due and authoritative force to challenge our world? Or will the Bible be swallowed by a quest to find modern analogies that sometimes minimize what the text clearly says?

I don’t know if this describes me very well at all.  On a comment at Connexions, PamBG called some of the questions ‘utterly ridiculous’ and  I certainly agree.  I often couldn’t find an answer that fit, and I, too, wanted to click ‘none of the above’ (which wasn’t an option).

4 thoughts on “The Hermeneutics Quiz

  1. It was a strange quiz. I normally respect Scot McKnight (who authored it), but I think he overstated it. Of course, this may be the problem with putting these types of labels on folk!

  2. I too found that there was not an answer I really wanted to give to some of the questions – I have found this in other areas such as profiling exercises like Myers Briggs and Belbin. I came out as moderate but I am not sure that was necessarily the right answer

  3. Hi Ian,
    I actually don’t mind the Myers Briggs, etc., as a means of learning about yourself (rather than a labelling tool). That’s where it’s most helpful, but they can be overstated in their usefulness (I pull my hair out in some of those questions, too!). But, I don’t see this exam as learning anything about myself! It was an exercise in futility that seems to make everyone say, ‘This isn’t helpful, and it doesn’t seem right.’ I guess it come down to simply not understanding what McKnight was trying to get at.

Leave a Reply

