A New Blog

This is something I have been putting off for sometime, but with the email last week informing me that I have only 30 days left for my dotMac membership I need to make a change. I don’t want to pay the £70 to renew, and using WordPress for the Advent Blog, I enjoyed the format and features much more than iWeb. I don’t have to do a near overhaul to make simple changes (I have meant to add the blogs of folk from the UK Bloggers Meeting – octomusings, Turbulent Cleric, and connexions – but I didn’t want to do the work on iWeb) and I haven’t figured out how to add tags. I also find the format easier on WordPress than Blogger. I have discussed making a change since the said Meeting in January and thought Lent is as good a time as any. So here I am.

I don’t foresee too many changes in the format, though now reading many more blogs and receiving questions from Americans on British issues and from British people on American issues (in particular, the presidential race). Being inspired by Richard Hall and Paul Martin, I want to comment on those things. My sister has taken an active interest in American politics, which I think is fantastic. She has some insightful thoughts that I hope she will let me post here. Inspired by Pam, I want to comment more on theology. And following Dave, I hope to speak on church life and family with the balance he provides (I don’t share is his interest for cycling!). For those who read my blog for Savannah stories, there will be those, too.

My old blog from Blogger will remain, but I haven’t figured out what to do with the post from iWeb/dotmac. I do apologise to those who have been following me for 2 1/2 years and my switching blogs. This should be the last!

4 thoughts on “A New Blog

  1. Hi Will! You know I do NOT like change–new blog, new blog site, etc. seems a little extreme for Lent! :+) Why are we not in a prayer closet fasting??? You also know that I am a VERY irregular blog reader but a VERY regular “looker at pics” of our goddaughter–how’s Savannah?–oh, and pics of you and April too!!! By the way, we miss ya’ll bunches! Come see Mickey soon!
    Love, Jen and Michael PS My goal was to be the 1st to comment!!!

  2. I don’t like change either (insert here: joke about how many Methodists it takes to change a light bulb), but I am less inclined to pay £70 (think of how much we could spend at Cokesbury with that!). You do raise a good point: a blog seems to be the opposite of a prayer closet as anyone who wants to can read what I write!

Leave a Reply

