Monday Methodism: The New Room, Bristol

I am a little late today, but I leave London and head west to Bristol.  There is Methodism’s oldest building, The New Room. I think my favourite feature of the room is the door not too far from the pulpit that allowed John Wesley to escape in case of angry protesters (at least that’s what I was told in Methodism class).

The chapel has ‘double decker’ pulpits – I guess for duelling preaching. Unfortunately, there is no longer a congregation that meets there. The day we went there was – what else? – a coffee morning on! I was at the end of my first year at Bamber Bridge when we went to Bristol, so I had already been to over 50 coffee mornings by this time. Where there are two or three Methodists gathered, there will be a committee meeting. If there is coffee and biscuits, you may have a coffee morning.

 

Me in the Pulpit

Me in the Pulpit

 

View from the Pulpit

View from the Pulpit

Me with Charles Wesley, whose house is in Bristol - we didn't go there. I doubt he would have been home anyway.

Me with Charles Wesley, whose house is in Bristol - we didn't go there. I doubt he would have been home anyway.

View from the Balcony - you can see the coffee morning going strong. Yes, we succumbed and had a cuppa.

View from the Balcony - you can see the coffee morning going strong. Yes, we succumbed and had a cuppa.

Leave a Reply

